We are in the process of starting over. This means that the entire board at phpbbmodders.net has been set to read-only. All phpBB 2.x and 3.0.x content should be visible but read-only. Private messaging has been disabled for registered users. Registrations will be opened in the near future at the new site. A link to the new site is provided below.

- bonelifer, Administrator

National Flags User Flags

Support for mods released by phpbbmodders.net found at either https://github.com/phpbbmodders/ or the MODDB at http://www.phpbb.com
Forum rules
Please only request support for mods released by phpbbmodders.net found at either https://github.com/phpbbmodders/ or the MODDB at http://www.phpbb.com
martin123456
Old member
Old member
Posts: 677
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 00:32

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by martin123456 »

steve© wrote:try:

Code: Select all

	<dt style="width:100%;text-align: center;">
Nope tried that here is the line in question

Code: Select all

<dt style="width:100%;"><!-- BEGIN fnum --><span style="width:10%;float:left;text-align:center;">{fnum.FLAG}<br />{fnum.L_FLAG_USERS}</span><!-- END fnum --></dt>
No matter what i add it wont push the flags to the center they remain on the left.
steve
Master of posting
Master of posting
Posts: 1213
Joined: 12 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: uk

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by steve »

Take out the float left code.
Steve ©
martin123456
Old member
Old member
Posts: 677
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 00:32

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by martin123456 »

Yeah i tried that too it seems if you touch any thing or remove any thing in the above line it puts the flags on top of each other and not next to each other :D

it's got me stumped i'l leave it for a while and let my head calm down a bit.
mikef35
New member
New member
Posts: 38
Joined: 21 Feb 2012, 21:05

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by mikef35 »

mchatuser wrote:
steve© wrote:try:

Code: Select all

	<dt style="width:100%;text-align: center;">
Nope tried that here is the line in question

Code: Select all

<dt style="width:100%;"><!-- BEGIN fnum --><span style="width:10%;float:left;text-align:center;">{fnum.FLAG}<br />{fnum.L_FLAG_USERS}</span><!-- END fnum --></dt>
No matter what i add it wont push the flags to the center they remain on the left.
this will center it

Code: Select all

<dt style="width:100%;"><!-- BEGIN fnum --><span style="width:100%;float:left;text-align:center;">{fnum.FLAG}<br />{fnum.L_FLAG_USERS}</span><!-- END fnum --></dt>
hirschheinrich
New member
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jul 2012, 15:17

National Flags User Flags

Post by hirschheinrich »

Hi, i've just downloaded the addon-zip and will try it.
tks - Heiner
Hodag
New member
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Oct 2012, 17:14

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by Hodag »

I assume that this mod works on 3.0.11 but I want to make sure. Has anybody experienced problems with it?

Also, am I correct that the flagsaddon.zip posted at the top of this thread is only for "Top 10" functionality (i.e. I have to install the main national flag mod first and then, optionally, the flagsaddon only if I want the top ten list?).

Sorry I am still somewhat stupid about tweaking mods, but I am getting there.
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Past Contributor
Past Contributor
Posts: 6242
Joined: 30 Nov 2006, 14:23
Real name: Rich McGirr

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by RMcGirr83 »

You must have the original mod installed first before using the files within this topic.
Hodag
New member
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Oct 2012, 17:14

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by Hodag »

OK, what I am I missing here. I installed the National Flags mod (albeit with some trouble) and got it all working. Then I installed the "Top Flags" zip referenced at in this thread, and updated top_flags.html from your link with the coffee cup.

Everything is working great except the caption. Your caption is left justified and says "Top 10 National Flags" while mine is centered and says "Top 5 National Flags". It displays 10 flags (well only 9, but I only have 9 entered so far so that is correct) but where the heck is the code for the caption? Or do I really need 10 unique flags for this to work?

BTW this is a really cool mod!
martin123456
Old member
Old member
Posts: 677
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 00:32

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by martin123456 »

I'm not on my own pc so cant check but take a look at the install file and your see a lang file edit change it from 5 to 10 top flags.

edit:

language/en/common.php file

find
Find This may be a partial find and not the whole line

Code: Select all

'TOP_FLAG_TITLE'   => 'Top 5 National Flags',
Replace with Replace the preceding lines with the following

Code: Select all

'TOP_FLAG_TITLE'   => 'Top 10 National Flags',
Hodag
New member
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Oct 2012, 17:14

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by Hodag »

Thanks for that; I did find the string in common.php and patched it. The other problem I had when I installed the Top Flag mod is that it inserted this text in the top_flags.hmtl

Code: Select all

<span class="hideforum"><a href="#" id="forum_topflags" onclick="toggle('topflags'); return false;" style="text-decoration:none;" title="Contract"><img src="{ROOT_PATH}images/hide.png" alt="hide" /></a></span>
But nowhere in the distribution was there a hide.png so that came up as a broken link. I note that on this forum the image is named hide.gif (not a png) but in either case the file is not found in either the National Flags 2.0.4 package or the Top Flags mod. I am sure this is just an oversight when packaging the files for disgtribution.

So with that code excised (my template does not need it) and the tweak to common.php all is right with the world.
digitalpro
New member
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 00:05

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by digitalpro »

Hello Rich - first of all, thank you for the chat and this mod for the user flag. Little help needed...

I installed the mod, uploaded the flag_addon.zip and top_flags.html. Now, I am not sure what do I need to do to have the "TOP 10 NATIONAL FLAGS" shown on home page of this site on mine? Could you please enlighten me?

Thanks,
dave
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Past Contributor
Past Contributor
Posts: 6242
Joined: 30 Nov 2006, 14:23
Real name: Rich McGirr

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by RMcGirr83 »

The zip gets unzipped and the files uploaded into the correct places...then refresh the template in the ACP.
digitalpro
New member
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 00:05

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by digitalpro »

I unzipped the zip and put the top_flags.html file in the "root\styles\prosilver\template" dir, uploaded the root folder into the root of forums, went into ACP and refreshed the template and still no luck.

The site is http://English.Asia/abc, if you could, kindly take a look and let me know what I did wrong.

Also, when I access http://english.asia/abc/flag_users.php, i see the FLAG_DISABLED message, I am pretty sure, I have enabled the mod. Any idea.

Again, thank you for your help!

Thanks,
dave
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Past Contributor
Past Contributor
Posts: 6242
Joined: 30 Nov 2006, 14:23
Real name: Rich McGirr

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by RMcGirr83 »

You didn't do it correctly. Open the install xml file in your browser and read what it states. root means to copy the files found in the folder into the root directory of your forum...not into a new directory called root.
digitalpro
New member
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 00:05

Re: National Flags User Flags

Post by digitalpro »

I think I found what I did wrong... I used the mod from here https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/mod/ ... r_edition/ instead of here: https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/mod/ ... 75ca80382a

I did "uninstall" and "install" and now getting "NO_USER_HAS_FLAG" msg here @ http://english.asia/abc/flag_users.php

and still do not see top flag on the index page.

Help please

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests