Manually adding code!

Discussion about phpBB 3.1.x.
steve
Master of posting
Master of posting
Posts: 1213
Joined: 12 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: uk

Manually adding code!

Postby steve » 04 Jan 2015, 18:17

If I was manually edit any phpbb 3.1.x files will they be lost when phpbb releases an update?
Steve ©

User avatar
bonelifer
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 475
Joined: 24 Jun 2006, 17:48
Real name: William
Location: htpc.MythBuntu

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby bonelifer » 04 Jan 2015, 18:39

If you manually edit them, you'll then have to use the automatic updater files to go between releases. That will mean you'll have to manually merge files that where changed. Instead you should really be doing things using Extensions.

steve
Master of posting
Master of posting
Posts: 1213
Joined: 12 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: uk

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby steve » 04 Jan 2015, 18:42

Thanks boner ,at least phpbb still support merging files.
Not been around much for a while so thought I would ask here ;)
Steve ©

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Past Contributor
Past Contributor
Posts: 6243
Joined: 30 Nov 2006, 14:23
Real name: Rich McGirr

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby RMcGirr83 » 04 Jan 2015, 18:56

Further, the extension will never get approved if you manually add edits to the files.

steve
Master of posting
Master of posting
Posts: 1213
Joined: 12 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: uk

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby steve » 04 Jan 2015, 19:01

It's for my forum rich ,I'm up to date with extensions just no so clued up on how phpbb handles updates.
Steve ©

User avatar
bonelifer
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 475
Joined: 24 Jun 2006, 17:48
Real name: William
Location: htpc.MythBuntu

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby bonelifer » 04 Jan 2015, 19:06

I personally wouldn't suggest using the auto-update/merge approach. Do things right and you'll have no troubles. This is the whole reason Extensions were added to 3.1. Why go backwards in time.

steve
Master of posting
Master of posting
Posts: 1213
Joined: 12 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: uk

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby steve » 04 Jan 2015, 19:13

Because some tweaks are not worthy of writing up extension files!!
Steve ©

User avatar
bonelifer
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 475
Joined: 24 Jun 2006, 17:48
Real name: William
Location: htpc.MythBuntu

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby bonelifer » 04 Jan 2015, 19:17

That line of reasoning just doesn't add up.

steve
Master of posting
Master of posting
Posts: 1213
Joined: 12 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: uk

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby steve » 04 Jan 2015, 19:28

This forum seems pointless then: viewforum.php?f=129
Steve ©

Pete
New member
New member
Posts: 22
Joined: 29 Aug 2008, 04:56

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby Pete » 08 Jan 2015, 19:35

Take for example this one line of code added to ucp_register.php

Code: Select all

$auth->login($data['username'], $data['new_password']);


Does the job just fine in both 3.0.12 and 3.1.x and is useful to me.

Why would someone write up a bunch of code and add extra files to make that 1 line of code work... that wouldn't make sense to me.

User avatar
Pond Life
Member
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: 31 Dec 2014, 12:43
Location: Earth

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby Pond Life » 08 Jan 2015, 22:48

Pete wrote:Why would someone write up a bunch of code and add extra files to make that 1 line of code work... that wouldn't make sense to me.

+1

I'm sticking with 3.0 for the foreseeable future. Extensions are a great idea for larger modifications/plugins but for small tweaks like that are just daft . I'm also concerned that the server resource usage in 3.1 appears to be rather excessive. 3.0 does everything I want and it works perfectly on my reasonably priced shared hosting.

User avatar
Stoker
Member
Member
Posts: 198
Joined: 14 May 2011, 20:54

Re: Manually adding code!

Postby Stoker » 10 Jan 2015, 05:29

Pete wrote:Why would someone write up a bunch of code and add extra files to make that 1 line of code work... that wouldn't make sense to me.

+1

Couldnt agree more :)
Also small edits are not possible with extensions.

However there is a workarund for this. You can create an extension an put all your edits in this extension.
Call it myphpbbedits ;)
Regards Stoker
PhpBB3 BBCodes


Return to “phpBB 3.1.x "Ascraeus" discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests